Hummingbirds, My Love of Summer

2 Comments

The challenge of my summer this year was to capture as many hummingbirds as I could. Those little guys are so fast .Sometimes I would sit for a hour lying in wait. So far I have been pretty lucky and patient. Many I might be able to add more to the video soon.
The Ruby-throated Hummingbird is the most widespread hummingbird in the United States and Canada. If you live east of the Mississippi, you’ve probably seen one … or many.
Name and Nicknames
Ruby-throated Hummingbirds have many dedicated fans. And so, they have many nicknames: ruby throated, ruby throats, rubythroat, ruby, rubies, hummers, hummer birds. Here’s their scientific name: Archilochus colubris.

peggy-franz.pixels.com

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

To feed the hummingbirds I use plain sugar. I also plant many varieties of plants that they like too. They are happy here and I am glad they come each year to entertain me. It is funny I always know when they are out of food , as they come buzz me and I say “Im coming to fill it up ” 

To yield larger portions, mix at the ratio of 1 part sugar to 4 parts water. The solution will keep in the refrigerator for up to two weeks.

hum-nectar-xIMG_5956-769x1024

 

2 thoughts on “Hummingbirds, My Love of Summer

Leave a comment